Total War: Rome II

Total War: Rome II, The game I worked on for half a year or so at The Creative Assembly was released this week. I don’t have a copy yet, so I enlisted a facebook buddy to grab some screenshots for me for the sake of a blog post, well professional me.

214950_2013-09-04_00035

Hit the jump for more!

For this game I did a number of 2D-arty things. Outside of UI I did a concept for one of the campaign-map buildings, and I drew patterns for a fair few of the shields used in-game. Most of my time was spent doing unit cards, which come in many different cultural flavours. The challenge there was showing heavy/medium/light as well as differences between very similar units in a very small space, which is quite crowded with icons and such covering the art.

214950_2013-09-04_00023

My favourite set to do were the barbarians, because I got to give em wriggly arms and heads based on celtic art :). They also get the coolest horses with big ol blocky jawlines.

214950_2013-09-04_00035

I was also responsible for the building icons, the majority of the technology icons and a set of icons (whose contextual name I can’t remember) which included pet cats, a questionable loaf of bread and an old woman. I’m hoping I’ll be able to grab better examples of this stuff at some point, they’re nothing special from an art POV ( and required less problem-solving design than the unit cards) but there is a whole mountain of them out there.

 

EDIT  10/09/13

TWR2 dog

Finally got my copy of Total War:Rome II, so I grabbed some screenshots to show more of the extent of the cultural diversity I got into those tiny lil’ unit cards. All of these were based on art created by the cultures that they represent, and adding the little cultural nods was the most fun thing about doing ’em. I’d like to hope it makes playing as the different cultures feel unique, even if some armies are a bit of a mix-match of nationalities.

First we have a general spread- split into Greco-Roman, Barbarian and Asian/African. This is a tiny fraction of the total number of units actually available in-game ( And I’ve probably skipped a few of the more subtle cultural deviations by accident…), but it’d take about as long to screengrab and arrange em all as it did to draw them, so if you’d like to see more, check out the game :).

TWR2 cultures

Then we have the cultural differences between mounts, including an angry face African elephant and a ‘WHY ME? ;_;’ Indian. ( I added the red background when compiling these to help the shapes read a little better )

MOUNTED

-S

5 thoughts on “Total War: Rome II

  1. Could we get the originals of your Rome 2 ancillary and skills assets, so that they can be, through the use of a mod, put into Rome 2, as CA has used only low quality versions of your artworks and it would be so much better with the full quality versions.
    I do modding at TWcenter and would love to be able to make your original Rome 2 artworks available as a mod.

  2. Having read this I thought it was rather enlightening.
    I appreciate you spending some time and energy to put this informative article together.
    I once again find myself spending way too much time both reading and
    commenting. But so what, it was still worth it!

Leave a Reply

