Inktober 2016

14-scarecrow-row
14 – Scarecrow Row

This year I took part in Inktober for the first time – an annual tradition for many artists, in which one is encouraged to draw something in ink each day of October. As someone who relies almost entirely on digital now to create ‘final’ artworks, it was more difficult than I thought it was going to be…

I skipped some days here and there ( when I had no time to take part ) and by the final week was a little burnt out on creating illustrations so switched to quick sketches – but in all the experience was a pretty great motivator, and really helped me move past some of the insecurities which have been plaguing me recently.

Some of these are not that great, some I kinda dig, the bad ones tended to be a product of me overworking a piece, getting a little too experimental, not spending enough time thumbnailing or looking for inspiration before starting. It feels like that kind of thing should be second nature, but I’ve spent so much time recently telling myself I’m an awful artist for not doing things that used to be second nature that I’ve not actually given myself enough space to build and maintain the good habits @_@. Aaaart.

A couple of these ( 05 /17 ) were drawn with fluorescent highlighters, look cool in person, but my scanner cannot see those colours so best I could do was take a photo

tumblr_oef0arvhy11reenj5o1_1280

inktober-01-book-of-the-dead
01 Book of the Dead

( Acrylic Ink, Chinese brush pen )

02-carnival-creeps
02 Carnival Creeps

( Acrylic Ink, thin brush )

03-mummy
03 Mummy

( Pen, water wash, some acrylic ink + tipp ex )

04-tentacle-tuesday-sm
04 Tentacle Tuesday

( Block print ink, watercolours, acrylic ink )

tumblr_oellkqatnn1reenj5o1_1280
05 NILBOG

( Neon Highlighters, Acrylic Ink )

06-urban-legend
06 Urban Legend

( Fineliner, marker )

08-8-legs-1000-eggs
08 8 legs, 10,000 eggs

( Brush pen )

09-dummy
09 Dummy

( Marker, bamboo pen + acrylic ink )

10-demon
10 Demon

( Fineliner, brush pen, POSCA white brush pen )

13-thursday-the-thirteenth
13 – Thirteen

( Brush pen, POSCA gold brush )

14-scarecrow-row
14 – Scarecrow Row

( Brush pen, markers )

14-scarecrow-row-sketchessm

mad-scientist-sm
17 – Mad Scientist

( Brush Pen, Highlighter, Marker )

18-nosferatuu
18 – Nosferatu

( Bamboo pen + Acrylic Ink , Marker )

19-witch
19 – Witch

( Biro )

20-headless-horseman-sm
20 – Headless Horseman

( Fineliner, Brush Pen, Marker, POSCA Gold/Silver/White brush )

alien
26 They Came From Outer Space!

( Biro )

Leave a Reply

